Edu appointment completes 'final piece of jigsaw' for Arsenal

Edu was part of the Invincibles side in 2003/4

Edu was part of the Invincibles side in 2003/4

ARSENAL have appointed former midfielder Edu as their first Technical Director.

The Brazilian spent five seasons with the Gunners from 2001 and was a key member of their 2003/04 Invincibles side. In 2010, he was appointed Director of Football at Corinthians before becoming general co-ordinator of the Brazil national team in 2016.

Arsenal said he would “co-ordinate the work of our first-team coaching group, the Academy and player scouting and recruitment” and report into Head of Football Raul Sanllehi.

“We’re very excited that Edu is joining the team,” Sanllehi said. “He has great experience and technical football knowledge and most importantly is a true Arsenal man. He understands the club and what we stand for to our millions of fans around the world.

“His arrival is the final and very important part of the jigsaw in our development of a new football infrastructure to take us forward. He will be working closely with Unai Emery and the first-team coaches, and will play a relevant role leading our football vision and ensuring we have - and follow - a solid philosophy through all our football activities.”

Edu added: “Arsenal has always had a special place in my heart and I’m thrilled to be returning to this great club in this new role. We have a strong squad and some very talented young players with fantastic people at every level. I’m looking forward to helping make a difference.”

The Brazilian, who played 22 times for his country, worked under Gunner boss Unai Emery at Valencia.

Sporting Director (or similar):

  • Arsenal: Edu (Technical Director)
  • Aston Villa: Jesus Garcia Pitarch (Sporting Director)
  • Bournemouth: Richard Hughes (Technical Director)
  • Brighton: Dan Ashworth (Technical Director)
  • Burnley: Mike Rigg (Technical Director)
  • Chelsea: Petr Cech (Technical and Performance Advisor)
  • Crystal Palace: Dougie Freedman (Sporting Director)
  • Everton: Marcel Brands (Director of Football)
  • Leicester: Jon Rudkin (Director of Football)
  • Liverpool: Michael Edwards: (Sporting Director)
  • Manchester City: Txiki Begiristain (Director of Football)
  • Norwich City: Stuart Webber (Sporting Director)
  • Southampton: Ross Wilson (Director of Football Operations)
  • Tottenham: Rebecca Caplehorn (Director of Football Operations)
  • Watford: Filippo Giraldi (Technical Director)
  • West Ham: Mario Husillos (Director of Football)
  • Wolves: Kevin Thelwell (Sporting Director)

Read more on:


More stories

Sign up to our newsletter to get all the latest news from The Guru